AI Receptionists for Small Business: What They Do and What They Cost in 2026

Affiliate disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. If you click a link and make a purchase, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Our editorial recommendations are never influenced by commissions — read our full disclosure policy.
An AI receptionist is a voice agent that answers your business phone, handles common questions from your own information, books or reschedules appointments, takes messages and passes urgent or complex calls to a person. For a small business the main questions are not whether it can talk — they all can — but how you are billed (per call, per minute or per unique caller), whether it can book into your calendar, and what happens when it cannot answer. As of October 2026, entry prices on the vendors' own pages range from $0 for a capped free tier to $39–$79 a month for a paid starter plan, with very different usage limits behind those numbers.
All features and prices below were read on each vendor's own page on 23 October 2026. Several are marked as limited-time offers or vary by country, so re-check before you sign up.
What an AI receptionist actually does
Across the vendors below, the common job list is:
- Answer every call, 24/7, including evenings, weekends and holidays, and several calls at once.
- Answer frequent questions from your website, uploaded documents or an FAQ list.
- Book, reschedule or confirm appointments in a connected calendar.
- Take messages and capture leads, then send a summary by email or text.
- Transfer calls to a person or another number when the caller needs one, or when something is urgent.
Prices and billing models (as of October 2026)
| Service | Entry price on vendor page | How usage is counted | Calendar booking | Trial |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| IONOS AI Receptionist | $39/month (Flex) | 30 calls included, then $0.49 per call | From Flex Pro ($69) | First month free |
| RingCentral AI Receptionist | Not shown on the product page | Standalone or add-on licence | Yes | Not stated on the page |
| Smith.ai AI Receptionist | $0 (Free), then $150/month (Pro) | 25 calls on Free; per-call overage | Not stated on the pricing page | Free tier |
| Goodcall | $79/month (Starter) | 100 unique customers, then 79¢ each | Not stated on the pricing page | Free demo agent |
| Rosie | $49/month (Professional) | 250 minutes a month | From Scale ($149) | 7-day free trial |
The billing unit is the number to model before the price. A business with a few long calls is better served by per-call pricing; one with many short calls from the same customers may prefer per-unique-caller pricing; one with long conversations will feel per-minute limits first. Our explainer on how AI agents are priced walks through the same arithmetic for other agent products.
IONOS AI Receptionist
The IONOS AI Receptionist "answers calls, advises customers, and schedules appointments around the clock". The page lists three US plans, marked as limited-time pricing:
- Flex — $39/month: 30 calls included, then $0.49 per call; one call forwarding.
- Flex Pro — $69/month: 100 calls included, then $0.39 per call; five call forwardings; appointment scheduling with calendar integration.
- Unlimited — $99/month: unlimited calls and call forwardings, calendar scheduling, API integration and a website widget.
RingCentral AI Receptionist
RingCentral's AI Receptionist page lists 24/7 answering without phone trees, answers from your website and documents, routing by name, department, location or keyword, lead capture, appointment booking and rescheduling, SMS follow-ups, multi-location support, call recording with transcription, and analytics. It supports English, Spanish, French, Italian, German and Portuguese and can switch language mid-call. Integrations include Salesforce, HubSpot, Zoho, Google and Outlook calendars, and it works with other phone systems via call forwarding or SIP. RingCentral says it is "available as a standalone or add-on license" in the U.S. and Canada (add-on in the U.K., Australia and EU); prices sit on a separate page and were not on the product page we checked.
Smith.ai
Smith.ai's AI receptionist pricing starts with a Free plan at $0 a month for 25 calls, with overage at $3.00 a call. Pro is $150 a month with tiers of 75, 150 or 300 calls, and Enterprise is $500 a month from 300 calls. Its FAQ says calls "can be transferred to a live North America-based receptionist" when something complex comes up — useful if you want a human safety net, though the page does not tie that to a specific plan.
Goodcall
Goodcall counts unique customers rather than calls or minutes. Starter is $79 a month for 100 unique customers (then 79¢ each), Growth $129 for 500, and Scale $299 for 2,000, with an Enterprise tier on request. Every plan includes a local number or forwarding of your existing one. There is no traditional free trial; you can build a free demo agent and pay when you connect a number.
Rosie
Rosie counts minutes. Professional is $49 a month for 250 minutes, Scale $149 for 1,000 minutes and adds direct calendar booking and live transfers, and Growth $299 for 2,000 minutes. All plans include iOS and Android apps, English and Spanish, call summaries, transcripts and recordings, and a Zapier integration. There is a 7-day free trial.
How to choose
1. Count your calls for a typical month, and note how long they are. This tells you which billing model is cheapest. 2. List the three questions callers ask most. Make sure the service can answer them from your website or documents, and test those exact questions during the trial. 3. Decide what must reach a human. Emergencies, complaints and anything involving money should transfer or trigger an alert. Check how each service handles it — IONOS routes trigger phrases, Smith.ai offers live receptionists, RingCentral and Rosie offer transfers. 4. Check calendar booking is on your plan. On IONOS and Rosie it starts on the second tier. 5. Check data handling. Calls contain personal data. Ask where recordings and transcripts are stored and for how long; our AI agent data-privacy checklist lists the questions.
If you want call summaries to flow into the rest of your tools, see how to build an AI agent workflow.
Frequently asked questions
How much does an AI receptionist cost?
As of October 2026, vendor pages show a free tier capped at 25 calls (Smith.ai) and paid starter plans from $39 a month (IONOS, 30 calls), $49 (Rosie, 250 minutes) and $79 (Goodcall, 100 unique customers). Overage charges apply above the included usage.
Can an AI receptionist book appointments?
Yes, on most services, but not always on the cheapest plan. IONOS includes calendar booking from Flex Pro and Rosie from Scale; RingCentral lists booking and rescheduling as a feature.
Do I need a new phone number?
Usually not. IONOS, Goodcall and RingCentral describe forwarding calls from your existing number to the assistant.
What happens when the AI cannot answer?
It depends on the service: transfers to your team, message-taking, or escalation to a live human receptionist (Smith.ai). IONOS says its assistant passes unknown questions to a teammate rather than inventing an answer.
Is an AI receptionist the same as a chatbot?
No. A chatbot answers text on your website; an AI receptionist answers phone calls and can take actions such as booking and transferring. Some, like IONOS on its Unlimited plan, add a website widget as well.
Sources checked 23 October 2026: ionos.com/momentum/ai-receptionist; ringcentral.com/ai-receptionist.html; smith.ai/pricing/ai-receptionist; goodcall.com/pricing; heyrosie.com/pricing. Editorial content.
Covered in this guide
Written by Thomas Lovas Lokoy, Co-founder & Editor — researched and drafted with AI assistance, then read, fact-checked and approved by Thomas before publishing · Editorial policy · Disclosure · Last updated: 23 October 2026





